Register for ALLY Training


In 2019, training related to our LGBTIQ community has been reconfigured, and we are proud to offer UNSW students and staff the opportunity to partake in both LGBTIQ Awareness Training (delivered by Pride in Diversity) and a refreshed Ally Training (designed and delivered by the Network’s new convenor Andrew Addie). All UNSW staff and students are welcome to undertake this free training.

LGBTIQ Awareness Training

This 2 hour session is aimed at students and staff looking to increase their basic knowledge around LGBTIQ people and communities. You will be introduced to the LGBTIQ acronym and expand your understanding of sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, and sex characteristics.

Topics include:

  • What and who does 'LGBTIQ people & communities' mean?
  • What is the difference between sex characteristics, gender identity, gender expression and sexual orientation?
  • Understanding the lived experience of LGBTIQ people
  • Understanding the health impacts of social stigma and assumptions
  • Legislation
  • Acceptance versus inclusion

Managers are especially encouraged to attend this session to assist with providing support to LGBTIQ student and colleagues. For students, this course is also accreditable as part of the UNSW Student Leadership Program. Upon completion of this session, you may wish further your knowledge by attending Ally Training.

Ally Training

This 2.5 hour session provides an in-depth discussion of diverse gender, sex and sexuality. It will build upon the knowledge gained from prior training or your own lived experience, exploring the issues facing the LGBTIQ community. The focus is on community building through open group discussions, case studies and problem solving.

Topics include:

  • Understanding issues associated with disclosing sexual orientation or gender identity
  • Learning about the impacts of discrimination
  • How to become a more effective bystander
  • Strategies for being an ally to the LGBTIQ community
  • Referring staff and students to appropriate local resources, support services and assistance
  • Creating a committed network of colleagues across UNSW

Once this training is completed, you will have the option to join the ALLY@UNSW Network. The network provides access to ongoing professional learning, resources and support services available at UNSW; and invitations to participate in events like Mardi Gras, IDAHOBIT and Wear It Purple.

Training Dates

LGBTIQ Awareness

Monday 18 February, 1:00 - 3:00pm

Wednesday 27 February, 1:30 - 3:30pm

Wednesday 24 April, 1:00 - 3:00pm

Wednesday 29 May, 1:00 - 3:00pm

Wednesday 3 July, 1:00 - 3:00pm

Wednesday 31 July, 1:00 - 3:00pm

Wednesday 28 August, 1:00 - 3:00pm

Wednesday 11 September, 1:00 - 3:00pm

Wednesday 6 November, 1:30 - 3:30pm

Ally Training

Wednesday 20 February, 10:00am - 12:30pm

Wednesday 13 March, 10:00am - 12:30pm

Wednesday 10 April, 10:00am - 12:30pm

Wednesday 15 May, 10:00am - 12:30pm

Wednesday 12 June, 10:00am - 12:30pm

Wednesday 17 July, 10:00am - 12:30pm

Wednesday 14 August, 10:00am - 12:30pm

Wednesday 18 September, 10:00am - 12:30pm

Wednesday 16 October, 10:00am - 12:30pm

Wednesday 13 November, 10:00am - 12:30pm