UNSW First Responders

You may wish to speak to someone before making a report e.g. a friend or family member or someone from UNSW. The person you speak to can also help make a report if that is something you choose to do.

There are also a number of services and people who can support you along the path to recovery from sexual assault. If you are not sure what to do you can talk to someone from one of the free and confidential services listed on this page. In addition, UNSW has trained First Responders that you can speak to in a number of Faculties and in student services. First Responders understand that reporting sexual misconduct can be difficult. They are not counsellors but they are trained to provide an appropriate initial response to your concerns and guide you to the right services. See further support on the Sexual Misconduct page.

For more information regarding the First Responders program or to become a First Responder please contact edi@unsw.edu.au

 

First Responders:

 

Paula Aldwell – 9385 3388 (Monday to Thursday)

Administration School of Marketing and School of Accounting
Room 3038, Level 3, Quadrangle Building (E15)
p.aldwell@unsw.edu.au
Paula speaks English

 

Anne Ayres – 9385 4666

Administrative Officer
Room 105, Dalton Building (F12)
a.ayres@unsw.edu.au   
Anne speaks English

 

Susan Bazzana  9381 1750 (Office hours) or 8344 4500 (After hours)

Dean of Residents
New College Village (H3)
During business hours, Susan's office is at New College (L6). She lives at New College Village (H3) and can be contacted there at night of on weekends on 8344 4500.

 

Chantel Benbow  0432 352 308 or 9385 2817

Technical Officer, School of Biological, Earth and Environmental Sciences
Level 5, Biological Sciences South (E26)
Chantel speaks English

 

Madden Burns  9385 7612 or 0417 468 231

Student Engagement Coordinator
Level 6, Computer Science Engineering (K17)
Madden speaks English

 

Thomas Britz – 9385 7115

Senior Lecturer, School of Mathematics and Statistics
The Red Centre (H13)
Thomas is available on Mondays, Wednesdays and Thursdays
Thomas speaks English, Danish and elementary German
 

Asako Clonaris – 9385 5337

Exchange Coordinator
Room G30, Goodsell Building (F20)
a.clonaris@unsw.edu.au  
Asako speaks English, conversational Japanese, Greek

 

Sarah Coull 0434 305 719 or 9385 0812

Women in Engineering Manager
Level 6, Computer Science Building (K17)
Sarah speaks English
 
 

Terry Cumming – 9385 1944

Associate Professor, School of Education
t.cumming@unsw.edu.au 
Email is the best way to contact Terry. Terry is often off campus for research on Monday and Friday but still available via email.
Terry speaks English

 

Ravit Danieli-Vlandis – 9385 3136 or 0420 984 544

Administrative Assistant 
Level 3, Samuels Building (F25)
ravit@unsw.edu.au 
Ravit speaks English and Hebrew

 

Wendy Dorrington – 9385 2650

Team Member, Client Services Unit
Library
w.dorrington@unsw.edu.au
Wendy rotates between the Main, Law and Paddington Libraries on a daily basis. The staff member who answers the above listed phone number will be able to put you in contact with Wendy.
Wendy speaks English

 

Scott East – 8936 0609

Lecturer 
F124B, Paddington Campus
s.east@unsw.edu.au 
It is best to arrange a time to meet Scott via email or phone due to his teaching schedule.
Scott speaks English

 

Arthur Escamilla – 9313 0300 (Monday to Wednesday)

Dean
Warrane College (M7)
dean@warrane.unsw.edu.au 
Arthur speaks English and Spanish

 

Cameron Faricy – 9385 1067

First Year Student Communities, Engagement Lead
Office 205a, Chancellery Building (C22)
c.faricy@unsw.edu.au
Cameron speaks English

 

Alexandra George 9385 9626

Senior Lecturer
Room 321, Law Building (F8)
Alexandra speaks English
 

Claudine Glover  0434 305 885 or 9385 8555

Executive Assistant
Kensington: The Chancellery, Ground Floor G19 (Monday – Thursday),
UNSW Canberra: Student Administrative Services (Friday)
Claudine speaks English
 

Lynn Greenwood – 0478 492 056

Faculty Executive Director, UNSW Art & Design
Ground Floor, D Block, Paddington Campus
l.greenwood@unsw.edu.au 
Lynn speaks English

 

Penny Griffin – 9385 8487

Senior Lecturer, Politics and International Relations 
Room 128, Morven Brown Building (C20)
penny.griffin@unsw.edu.au 
In Semester 1, 2018, Penny is on campus Tuesdays and Fridays. Penny will take some Long Service Leave for part of Semester 2.
Penny speaks English and French
 

Renée Griffin - 9385 4735

Educational Support Advisor
Ground Floor, John Goodsell Building (F20)
Renée speaks English and conversational French
 

Michele Hannon 9385 7721 or 0403 602 136

WIL Industrial Training Manager
Room 117, Ainsworth Building (J17) - until 17 September 2018
Room G05, Building K17 - from 17 September 2018
michele.hannon@unsw.edu.au
Michele speaks English
 

Alice Harrison 8071 9867

Engineer
Water Research Laboratory, Manly Vale
Alice speaks English
 

Bridget Haire 9385 1227

Senior Research Fellow
Kirby Institute, Level 6, Wallace Wurth Building (C27)
Bridget speaks English
 

Judy Hart  9385 7998

Senior Lecturer, School of Materials Science and Engineering
Room 339, Level 3, Hilmer Building (E10)
Judy speaks English

 

Gernot Heiser – 9490 5850

Scientia Professor
Room 301, Building K17
gernot@unsw.edu.au
Gernot works full time but travels frequently.
Gernot speaks English and German

 

Peter Heslin – 9385 7147

Associate Professor of Management
Room 550, Business School Building
p.heslin@unsw.edu.au
Peter speaks English

 

Anna Hole  9385 1993

Work Integrated Learning Administrator
Room LG9, Morven Brown Building (C20)
anna.hole@unsw.edu.au
Anna speaks English
 
 

Laura Hunter – 9385 1083 or 0450 208 664

Executive Assistant to Director of Nura Gili
Room 505, Ainsworth Building (J17)
laura.hunter@unsw.edu.au
Laura works full time and is also a student at UNSW.
Laura speaks English

 

Daphne-Ann Kelly – 9385 6750

Student Adviser, UNSW Global 
Student Services, Level 1, Building L5
d.kelly@unswglobal.unsw.edu.au 
Daphne speaks English

 

Melanie Kovacs  6268 8218

Manager, Equity & Diversity
UNSW Canberra
Melanie speaks English
 
 

Linda Lombardi – 9385 7672

Arc@UNSW Legal & Advocacy Manager
Level 2, Basser College (D17)
l.lombardi@arc.unsw.edu.au
Linda speaks English

 

Stuart Maclaine – 9385 3536 or 0401 603 175

Deputy Dean
Fig Tree Hall (B18)
Stuart can also be contacted through UNSW Student Accommodation Office at Gate 5 High Street.
Stuart speaks English

 

Daniel Mansfield – 9385 1904

Lecturer
Room 4070, The Red Centre (H13)
Daniel speaks English
 

Tierney Marey  9385 7991

Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Project Officer
Science Dean's Unit, Dalton Building (F12)
Tierney speaks English, French and Spanish

 

Alana McHattan – 9385 8056 (Tuesday to Friday)

Scheduling Consultant, Student Services & Systems
Level 10, Library Building (Stage 2)
a.mchattan@unsw.edu.au
Alana speaks English

 

Brittney McLennan - 9385 8341

Senior Projects Manager, Arc @ UNSW
Arc Reception - TKC Building
Brittney works from home on Tuesdays
Brittney speaks English

 

Laura McNally – 9385 4432

Projects Coordinator / Executive Assistant to the Head of School
Room 344, Hilmer Building (E10)
laura.mcnally@unsw.edu.au
Laura speaks English

 

Jane Miller – 0478 492 092

Executive Director, Alumni & Engagement
CBD Campus, 320 Pitt Street
jane.miller@unsw.edu.au
Jane speaks English

 

Roselle Nunes – 9385 4305

Front Office Supervisor
Kingsford Legal Centre, Ground Floor, Law Building (F8)
r.nunes@unsw.edu.au
Roselle speaks English and Portuguese

 

Tzu-Ping (Emily) Ou – 9385 4734

International Student Advisor
John Goodsell Building (F20)
emily.ou@unsw.edu.au
Emily speaks English and Chinese Mandarin

 

David Stahel – 6268 8873

Senior Lecturer 
HASS Canberra 
d.stahel@adfa.edu.au 
David speaks English and German

 

Louise Tabrum – 9385 6448

International Student Advisor
Ground Floor, Goodsell Building (F20)
l.tabrum@unsw.edu.au
Louise speaks English

 

Mira van der Ley – 0400 719 861

Associate Lecturer
Room G23A, Biolink, Biological Sciences North (D26)
m.vanderley@unsw.edu.au    
Mira speaks English

 

Richard Vickery  9385 1676

Deputy Head (Teaching), School of Medical Sciences
Wallace Wurth Building (C27)
Richard speaks English and Dutch

 

Ajay Kumar Vijay – 9385 4503

Research Fellow
Room 2.013A, North Wing, Rupert Myers Building (M15)
v.ajaykumar@unsw.edu.au 
Ajay speaks English, Hindi and Tamil

 

Laura Wilson – 9385 3866

DECRA Fellow 
Room 558, Biological Sciences North (D26)
laura.wilson@unsw.edu.au
Laura speaks English and conversational German and French